Cross: Cotton Wins Lincolnshire Event


│ │ │
Location: Bourne Woods, Lincolnshire
Event: 16 October 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

Bycka Sport Racing’s Mark Cotton continued his domination of the Lincolnshire cyclo-cross scene when he took victory in the latest round at Bourne Woods – but he was pushed all the way.

Cotton was just three seconds ahead of leading junior George Thompson (Sleaford Wheelers) at the end of the seniors race, which doubled up as round 4 of the Lincolnshire League as well as round 3 of the Lincolnshire Championship, which is a separate competition omitting events which clash with the National Trophy Series.

Initially there had been three riders at the front of the race with Cotton and Thompson forging ahead along with VC Lincoln rider Jon Wells. But a front wheel puncture meant Wells dropped back, leaving Cotton and Thompson to forge ahead.

Cotton tried to escape his young rival, and almost managed to get clear on the grassy areas, only for Thompson to fight back in the woods.

As they headed for the line Cotton left it late to make his move, and revealed later that a slow rear wheel puncture was the reason for him delaying his effort.

Behind Thompson, Wells had returned to the action and just held on to third spot, 1-18 off the pace set by Cotton, while the chasing bunch was just one second further back and led in by veteran Duncan Walmsley (Zepnat RT).

VC Lincoln’s Helen MacGregor was fastest woman, while Skegness Wheelers’ Philip Hayes was best over-50 and John Dowell (Heanor Clarion) best over-60.


1 Mark Cotton (Bycka Sport Racing) 55:58
2 George Thompson (Sleaford Wheelers) @ 3sec
3 Jon Wells (VC Lincoln) @ 1:18
4 Duncan Walmsley (Zepnat RT) @ 1:19
5 Gareth Whittall (Clay Cross RT) @ 1:26
6 Graham Clark (Time RT) @ same time
7 David Perry (Gabby Day Cyclesport) @ 2:22
8 Rick Lister (Gabby Day Cyclesport) @ 2:52
9 Darryl Hewson (Alford Wheelers) @ 3:20
10 Adam Cadle (Lincsquad) @ 3:24
Juniors: George Thompson (Sleaford Wheelers). Veterans: Duncan Walmsley. Women: Helen MacGregor (VC Lincoln). Over-50s: Philip Hayes (Skegness Wheelers). Over-60s: John Dowell (Heanor Clarion).

1 Oliver Maxwell (VC Rutland) 24:24
2 Henry Thompson (Sleaford Wheelers) @ 1:45
3 Tim James (Bourne Wheelers) @ 2:18
4 Campbell Pollock (Bourne Wheelers) @ 2:29
5 Jake Peel (Spalding CC) @ 3:07
6 Jake Peel (Spalding CC) @ same time
Girls: Sian Botteley (Bourne Wheelers). Under-14s: Henry Thompson (Sleaford Wheelers). Under-14 girls: Harriet Moore (Spalding CC).

1 Matthew Ellis (Spalding CC) 14:11
2 Jake Norton (Spalding CC) @ same time
3 Robert McAndrew (Spalding CC) @ 32sec
Girls: Abigail Armstrong (VC Lincoln).

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.