Dan Smith wins 2011 Western League

Dan Smith wins 2011 Western League


Location: Swindon
Event: 26th July 2011

Report: GWR Team

Dan Smith sealed the Western Summer League title after a fourth place finish in the tenth and final round.

With a large field of 40 riders lining up for the tenth and final round, a strong sprint start was all important. Leading the field into the first of the woodland sections, was Luke Cowely who got hole shot and took the lead for the first half lap. As the riders hit the main drag through the finish line, series leader Dan Smith took over and led for the next half lap until Paul Lloyd and Crispin Doyle, both starting slowly from the back from the grid, made their way to the front.

Lloyd and Doyle created a small advantage on Cowely and Smith, which they were able to hold until the finish. The four leading riders opened up a sizable gap on the fight for fifth place which was a five way battle between Peter Kench, Jason Painton, Lee King, Gary Clark and Grant Bayton as they lapped the twisting circuit like a tight and compact snake for the 45 minute duration.

With 15 minutes to go, Round 8 winner Doyle lined up to take his second win of the series as he made the most of a slight advantage over Lloyd that he held until the finish line. Lloyd came home in a conformable second with Cowely disposing of Smith on the penultimate lap to take third. Smith came home for fourth and to take the overall Western Summer Series League win.


1. Crispin Doyle (Swindon RC)
2. Paul Lloyd (Banjo Cycles)
3. Luke Cowley (Swindon RC)
4. Dan Smith (GWR Team)
5. Jason Painton (N/A)
6. Peter Kench (GWR Team)
7. Jo Griffiths (N/A)
8. Lee King (N/A)
9. Steven Brown (Dream Zero G)
10. Ian Dawes (Dream Zero G)
11. Tom Holden (Swindon RC)
12. Jonathan Wickham (GWR Team)
13. Rob Collins Dream (Zero G)
14. Peter Hutchinson (Swindon RC)
15. David Hobbs (N/A)
16. Pip Sowden (N/A)
17. Isaac Staff (Swindon RC)
18. Mike Joffe (N/A)
19. Jack Sowden (N/A)
20. Tom Sewel (Swindon RC)
21. Paul Sewel (Swindon RC)
22. Harry Sowden (N/A)
23. Roger Chamberlain (N/A)
24. Lewis Maynard (N/A)
25. John Hawes (N/A)
26. Matt Antrobus (N/A)
27. Barry Thompson (N/A)
28. Gordon Smillie (N/A)
29. Mark Horton (N/A)
30. Stephen Williams (N/A)
31. Bruce Driffill (Dream CC)