Cycle Speedway: Narrow win for Horspath at Leicester


Location: Leicester Cycle Speedway, Frog Island, Leicester
Event: May 11 2013
Report: Tim Jarvis/Snowdon Sports

The outcome of an action-packed Will Burns Memorial senior pairs competition was eventually decided by a run-off which saw Horspath’s Mark Carmichael beat Adam Peck from surprise packets Leicester 2012.

The two teams had finished all-square on 33 points and just one ahead of Wednesfield A, with Hull a point further back in fourth place – British champion Andy Angell involved in some spectacular stuff, but always seeming to come off second best.

Showing all her speed and skill by winning both of her gate four races from the back, Leicester’s Lauren Davies retained her women’s title with some flair on her home track.

Nearest challenger, Hethersett’s Danni Riley couldn’t keep the flying Davies behind her in heat 13 but otherwise was never in trouble on her way to second place overall.

Vicki Brown defeated Michelle Whitehead in a run-off for third place after tying on 17 points, while Brown’s younger team-mate Ellie Sullivan took credit for her never-say-die efforts against mainly older riders.


Senior pairs:
1 Horspath 33 (M Boaler 15, M Carmichael 18)
2 Leicester 2012 33 (P Howells 18, A Peck 15)
3 Wednesfield A 32 (Pheard 19, C Jewkes 13)
4 Hull 30 (A Stephenson 19, A Angell 11)
5 Wednesfield B 29 (L Aris 16, R Johnston 13)
6 Leicester 26 (C Marchant 14, R Hoyland 12)
7 Sandwell 24 (M Smith 15, J Ball 9)

Women: L Davies 20, D Riley 19, V Brown 17, M Whitehead 17, L Hookway 16, L Jacobs 14, E Sullivan 13, L Whitehead 12, L Watson 12, CJ Herbert 11, C Ellitts 11, S Tamborska 8, R Davies 8, E Rigley 6, C Whitehead 5.

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.