Cycle speedway South West League round-up

Cycle speedway South West League round-up


The opening day of league racing in the south brought together the top four teams from the 2012 table with champions Exeter suffering a defeat at the hands of a full strength Poole side.

The Devon club were missing a number of experienced riders from their team of last season and when their star rider Thomas Reed withdrew through illness after two races, the writing was on the wall for the Aces.

Steve Harris made a successful debut for the Dorset club and Chris Roberts made an encouraging return to the saddle after a long injury lay-off.

The match between Horspath and Newport went right down to the wire with just a single point separating the two sides.

Stoke based Simon Munden made a good start to SWL racing by top scoring for the Hammers but the newly reinforced Welsh side showed that they will be a major force to be reckoned with in this year's campaign with a solid 1 - 8 performance.

South West League Division 1 results

Exeter 72: Craig Nethercott 14, Aaron Herbert 12, Dave Murphy 12, Andrew Yard 9, Dan Winchester 8, Joe Avery 6, Thomas Reed 6, Rob Geach 5.

Poole 107: Steve Harris 19, Chris Roberts 18, Aaron Smith 17, Aaron Morgan 16, Leyton Glover 15, Wil Bristowe 8, Pete Young 7, Ben Donohue 7.

Horspath 89: Simon Munden 17, Mark Bolaer 15, Wayne Hutt 14, Errol Thaw 10, Zak Payne 10, Lee Clarke 9, Wayne Clarke 8, George Horsley 6.

Newport 90: Nicky Evans 17, Chris Davies 14, Mark Carmichael 14, Kieran Jones 11, Aaron Hughes 11, Neil Power 10, Jack Harrold 9, Ryan Evans 4.

Division 2

Exeter 68: Will Tidball 11 Robert Croal 13 Andy Riddle 9, Connor Tucker 8 Isaac Harrison 11 Lauren Hookway 7 Charlie Jane Herbert 9.

Poole 52: Kyran Yeatman 10 Callum Smith 9 Niall Instone 11 Shane Hamner 7, Jay Briggs 11 Frazer Garnett 4.

Horspath 44 Newport 87

Under 16 Conference

Exeter 56: Owen Tidball 11, Jack Herbert 9, Sam Riddle 8, Thomas Croal 8, Lauren Hookway 6, Ben Stanbury 6, Harry Stanbury 4, Charlie Jane Herbert 4

Poole 64: Aaron Smith 16, Niall Instone 15, Jay Briggs 14, Callum Smith 7, Shane Hamner 7, Frazer Garnett 5