Hull cruise to Nothern League victory

Hull cruise to Nothern League victory


Location: Hull Cycle Speedway, East Yorkshire
Event:  11 July 2012

Hull took on Heckmondwike in a re-arranged Northern League match between the two basement clubs that was anticipated to be a closely fought encounter.

The visitors started well following Adam Stephenson for a drawn heat from outs for Darren Kent and Adam Watson but Hull soon clicked into gear. They took three 7-3’s and a 6-4 to lead by 32 points to 18 after five heats and were taking well to a damp raceway while some of the Saints looked a little tentative. Darren Kent took Heckmondwikes first heat win in the eighth heat and with inside gates after the Interval they were beginning to get back in the meeting.

Sam Schofield was taking his first team outing of the season and was to win his four starts with a good display of gating and teamed up with David Cooper in heat 9 for a 6-4 advantage. Pawel Idziorek and Laura Watson took the West Riding side’s only advantage in heat 12 with a typically determined display before Hull hit back with good 7-3’s from David Cooper and Adam Stephenson and Sam Schofield and Ben Swanborough. The final heat brought out the top two from each side with Adam Stephenson in front followed by Andy Angell before a slip from the British champion allowed Pawel to take second place much to his obvious delight.

Heckmondwike relied heavily on Darren Kent and Pawel Idziorek with support from the promising Adam Watson and will certainly fare better in the return at Firth Park next Wednesday. Hull’s Adam Stephenson and Andy Angell were on their usual good form but will be pleased with good displays from Ben Swanborough, Lewis Aylmer and youngster Sam Schofield in an all-round team display.

The track stood up well to 15 heats of racing after being under water the previous day thanks to the sterling work of Paul Stephenson and the Hull club can now prepare for Sunday’s British KO Final with some confidence while keeping an eye on the weather.


Hull 89: Adam Stephenson 19+1, Andy Angell 16+2, Sam Schofield 16, Lewis Aylmer 14+1, Ben Swanborough 12+2, David Cooper 9, Robert Stockton Garner 2, Marciej Binkowski 1.

Heckmondwike 61: Pawel Idziorek 15, Darren Kent 13, Adam Watson 10+2, Jake Wood 9+1, Laura Watson 6+1, Justin Naylor 6, Andy Morris 2.