Reece Pollitt Wins Astley and Tyldesley Cycle Speedway Individual Championship

Reece Pollitt Wins Astley and Tyldesley Cycle Speedway Individual Championship


Astley and Tyldesley staged their Club Individual Championships under the Gin Pit floodlights with fifteen riders racing, split into two groups.

Four riders contested the U6 category, with Jamie Hill winning all his four races to score a maximum 16 points, ahead of his four year-old brother Luke, who edged out another four year-old, John White.

The 11 older riders competed in the other match. U13 rider Reece Pollitt raced to a 20 points maximum score to win the overall Club Individual Championship. The eventual outcome was decided in heat 16, when Pollitt met the unbeaten U6 rider Joel Partington. Reece started from grid three and held out Joel, off grid four, on the first bend and had enough speed throughout the race to hold off the challenge and take the win.

Third place went to Stefan Whitelegg, who dropped his only points to the top two. There was plenty of keen racing as the younger riders gave it their all to take top position in the various age groupings. Adam Turnbull beat Max Evans to take the U10 category, with Daniel Burns beating Tom Whitwam and Tyler Koch in a run-off after all had tied on 14 points. There was consolation for Whitwam as he finished the highest scoring U8 rider.

The racing was really keen throughout, with four riders beating their personal best times - Stefan Whitelegg, Adam Turnbull, Reece Pollitt and Daniel Burns. Club practices will be held on the next two Tuesdays (11 and 18 October) 7pm starts. The eigth and final round of the A & T Go-Ride Grand Prix series takes place on Sunday 16 October. Registrations at 1.30 pm, racing starts at 2pm.


Main event

Reece Pollitt (U13) 20, Joel Partington (U16) 19, Stefan Whitelegg (U3) 18, Adam Turnbull (U10) 17, Max Evans (U10) 16, Daniel Burns (U10) 14, Tom Whitwam (U8) 14, Tyler Koch (U10) 14, Matthew Snell (U8) 12, Ellis Halford (U16) 11, Matthew Sweeney (U10) 10.

U6 event

Jamie Hill 16, Luke Hill 11, John White 9, Edan Scales 3.

Referee - Bill Phillips