Horspath clinch U13 Champs

Horspath clinch U13 Champs

Bookmark    and Share 
Follow britishcycling.org.uk on
Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr

Horspath clinch U13 Champs with late push

British Under 13 Club Championship
Event: 9th July 2011
Event Details
Report and images: Adam Stephenson

Photo: Competitors battle for the U13 British Championship

A bright sunny afternoon greeted the nine teams competing in the British-Under 13 Club Championship sponsored by The Cooperative Funeralcare at Hull's Hessle Raceway.

The first semi-final of the day brought together East Newport, Astley & Tyldesley, Poole, Ipswich, and the home club Hull. After 20 heats of all-out action from the young stars of the future, Astley emerged victorious after reeling off three straight heat wins in their final three races.

A heat 16 disqualification left East Newport tied with Poole on 49 points for the last final spot. The Welsh side's Ethan Greenslade duly won the run-off ahead of Dorset's Jordan Ritzburger to make it Astley and East Newport progressing to the coveted final. Hull did well to finish not too far behind on 37 points with a team full of relative inexperience at competitions of this level, while Ipswich's efforts weren't reflected in their resulting 25 points.

The second semi-final then brought together Midland sides Bretford and Leicester, Oxford's Horspath, and South Yorkshire's Sheffield. Leicester, Bretford and Horspath could not be separated after heat four, but then Horspath slowly edged away into the lead to take the semi on 46 points. A final heat win by Bretford's Lee Kemp over Leicester's Liam Doughty then handed them the last final place after the scores been level at the heat 15 mark. Sheffield finished the match with 27 after a couple of good outings from the South Yorkshire side.

The final brought together Astley, Bretford, East Newport, and Horspath. Horspath established an early lead from their inside grid positions before East Newport reeled them back in to take the lead at the halfway stage. Five points split all the teams after heat 12 with the Welsh club just holding onto their lead ahead of a determined Horspath outfit. Horspath then used their grid twos to great effect in the final set of races to pull ahead of East Newport and take the overall victory.

The end results finished with Horspath on 44, East Newport 40, Astley & Tyldesley 39, and Bretford 35.
A great days racing was had by all and hopefully all riders enjoyed their trip up to the Hessle Raceway. Congratulations go to all the riders involved and the Hull club looks forward to welcoming them back sometime in the future.

Semi-final one

Astley & Tyldesley 49: Adam Phillips 16, Freddie Hewitt 13, Reece Pollitt 13, Ross Green 7.

East Newport 44: Ethan Greenslade 15, Adam Bennett 13, Ethan Lewis 8, Tudor Coombes 7, Sean Bennett 1.

Poole 44: Callum Albin 14, Jordon Fitzburger 14, George Newman 9, Frazer Hoare 5.

Hull 37:Sam Schofield 13, Andy Cooper 10, Rob Davies 7, Nathan Everett 6, Joe Sewell 1.

Ipswich 25: Jack Chaplin 10, Alex Harvey 6, Ben Harvey 5, Tom Martin 2, Brandon Gilbert-Rolfe 2.

Referee: Darren Kent (Yorkshire)

Semi-final two

Horspath 46: Jake Neighbour 15, George Horsley 13, Jordon Richardson 12, Alfie Wakefield 5, Alice Neighbour 1.

Bretford 44: Lee Kemp 15, Niall Cleaver 10, Kyle Roberts 10, Matt Humbridge 5, Daniel Price 4.

Leicester 43: Liam Davies 14, Liam Doughty 12, Charlie Shutt 8, Liam Wood 6, Max Barrett 3.

Sheffield 27: Adam Watson 11, Amber Webster 6, Ed Morton 4, Jake Millington 3, Ellie Sullivan 3.

Referee: Andy Moody (Humberside)


Horspath 44: Jordon Richardson 15, George Horsley 13, Jake Neighbour 12, Alice Neighbour 2, Alfiie Wakerfield 2.

East Newport 40: Ethan Greenslade 14, Tudor Coombes 10, Adam Bennett 9, Ethan Lewis 7, Sean Bennett dnr.

Astley & Tyldesley 39: Adam Phillips 16, Reece Pollitt 14, Freddie Hewitt 5, Ross Green 4.

Bretford 35: Lee Kemp 14, Kyle Roberts 8, Niall Cleaver 6, Daniel Price 4, Matt Humbridge 3.

Referee: Darren Kent (Yorkshire)