Cross: Droger wins at Rossington

Cross: Droger wins at Rossington


Location: Rossington Welfare Ground, Rossington, near Doncaster
Event: 23 December 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Dieter Droger (Dirt Wheels) secured victory in round 13 of the Lincolnshire League, staged at Rossington near Doncaster, South Yorkshire, on Sunday.

The Barnsley-based 31-year-old took the win by almost a minute and a half – but only after hitting the front on the final lap.

Droger had been away early in the race with Sleaford Wheelers’ George Thompson and Mark Cotton (Ellmore Factory Racing) with the trio sharing time at the front as they left the rest of the field behind on a windy and muddy course.

Thompson got a small gap on the second lap, while Cotton crashed in the woods and dropped back, leaving the Sleaford rider to power on alone.

Droger chased hard to catch Thompson, and by the bell was just a few seconds behind. In the woods – where the mud was at its worst – Droger finally caught Thompson, who tired visibly on the last half lap and crossed the line 1-25 behind, while Cotton took third, 1-57 behind and just one second ahead of Nick Barnes (Zepnat RT).

Hope Factory Racing’s Annie Simpson was the leading female in the race, ahead of Zepnat RT’s Diane Lee, while Matt Deny (Team Jewson) was the fastest of the veterans in fifth overall.

VC Lincoln’s Jordan Gell was the pick of the juniors, with Seb Marsh (Paul Milnes-Bradford Olympic) taking second in that category.


1 Dieter Droger (Dirt Wheels) 10 laps in 1-05-04
2 George Thompson (Sleaford Wheelers) @ 1:25
3 Mark Cotton (Ellmore Factory Racing) @ 1:57
4 Nick Barnes (Zepnat RT) @ 1:58
5 Matt Denby (Team Jewson) @ 3:49
6 Darryl Hewson (Alford Wheelers) @ 4:16
7 Andy Johnson (Yorkshire Velo) @ 4:28
8 Chris Clark (York Cycleworks) @ 5:12
9 Nathan Miller (Buzz Cycles) @ 5:13
10 Jough Watson (Charge Bikes) @ 6:10

1 Matt Denby (Team Jewson)
2 Darryl Hewson (Alford Wheelers)
3 Jough Watson (Charge Bikes)

1 Jordan Gell (VC Lincoln)
2 Seb Marsh (Paul Milnes-Bradford Olympic)

1 Annie Simpson (Hope Factory Racing)
2 Diane Lee (Zepnat RT)

1 Jake Poole (Cycleshack) 6 laps in 33:37
2 Henry Thompson (Sleaford Wheelers) @ 1:03
3 Chris Barnes (Zepnat RT) @ 1:25
Girls: Jess Willett (Sherwood Pines). Under-14s: James Armstrong (VC Lincoln).

1 Jake Norton (Spalding CC) 13:40
2 Lewis Jacobson (Welland Valley CC) @ 19sec
3 Henry Hollyman (Kirklees Cycling Academy)
Girls: Molly Peel (Spalding CC).

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.