Whitehaven Summer Cyclo- Cross


In complete contrast to the first event in Ulverston, the sun shone on the riders in the second event of the new Cumbria Summer Cyclo-Cross series held at the Copeland Sports Academy, Whitehaven.

The under 12s and under 10s were first off on a shortened course around the banking surrounding the athletics track. Matti Egglestone (Beacon Wheelers) led the riders away with Little Clifton’s Sam Wedgwood (Lakeland Sprinters) and North East visitor Ben Dowson (Hetton Hawks) giving chase. This turned out to be the order of the top three placings. Fourth place went to Jessica Newby (Furness Future Flyers). Next to finish despite a fall was Chloe Loftus (Beacon Wheelers) who had a race long battle against Jessica Newby (Furness Future Flyers). Seaton girl Niamh Nelson (Lakeland Sprinters) who had a great ride against the more experienced South Lakes riders was next followed closely by Eva Newby (Furness Future Flyers). The biggest cheer of the race was for Euan Rhodes from Whitehaven, who was the youngest rider of the day and soldiered on to the end ably supported by his Father.

With the temperature getting hotter next up was the Under 16s race with riders riding the full course including the drop into the amphitheatre and the sand pit. After consultation with the British Cycling Go Ride coaches, Matti Egglestone once again took to the start line. After 25 minutes of very hot racing Mark Donavan (Beacon Wheelers) was the winner followed by Tyla Loftus (Beacon Wheelers) with Matti Egglestone completing a successful days racing in third. Kyle Mclean (Furness Future Flyers) followed in fourth place. Two West Cambrians having their first taste of bike racing, Sam Nichols and Callum Hodgson were next to finish in fifth and sixth respectively. Tom Martin (Biketreks) unfortunately crashed out and had to retire.

The final event of the day was the senior event with 19 riders taking part. With the promise of a prime (special prize) for the first rider over the line at the end of the first lap a group of three riders, Whitehaven’s Niall Paterson (Bike Bank / Honister 92) and two Workington riders Greg Tognarelli and Sean Hoban both V.C. Cumbria quickly got away with Paterson winning the prime. As the race wore on only Tognarelli and Patterson could ride the bank out of the amphitheatre leaving Hoban to fall behind. Mid race Tognarelli slowly eased away from Patterson to victory with Hoban coming home in third place.

Special thanks to the volunteers who run Copeland Sports Academy who helped in putting the event on, Totalhealthcare Whitehaven, Braemar Bikes of Whitehaven for donating prizes, Chris Bright of Lakes College West Cumbria for photography and Brian Finlay for the video.


Under 10/12

1 Matti Egglestone (Beacon Wheelers)

2 Ben Dowson (Hetton Hawks)

3 Sam Wedgwood (Lakeland Sprinters)

4 Jessica Newby (Furness Future Flyers

5 Chloe Loftus (Beacon Wheelers)

6 Jessica Newby (Furness Future Flyers)

7 Eva Newby (Furness Future Flyers)

8 Niamh Nelson (Lakeland Sprinters)

9 Euan Rhodes (Whitehaven)

Under 16/14

1 Mark Donavan (Beacon Wheelers)

2 Tyla Loftus (Beacon Wheelers)

3 Matti Egglestone (Beacon Wheelers)

4 Kyle Mclean (Furness Future Flyers)

5 Sam Nichol

6 Callum Hodgson


1 Greg Tognarelli (VC Cumbria)

2 Niall Paterson (Bike Bank / Honister 92)

3 Sean Hoban (VC Cumbria)

4 Brian Payton (VC Cumbria)

5 James Roberts (Keswick Bikes)

6 Keith Ashbridge (VC Cumbria)