Cavendish, Barnes, Hayter and Froome to lead the charge in Lincoln

Cavendish, Barnes, Hayter and Froome to lead the charge in Lincoln


A star-studded cast of Britain’s most storied and promising riders have today been announced to ride in this year’s HSBC UK | National Road Championships in Lincoln, which take place from 14-17 October.

Fresh from equalling Eddy Merckx’s record for the most Tour de France stage victories this summer, Mark Cavendish will once again ride for the coveted national champion’s jersey. Cavendish won the road race at the 2013 championships and finished second behind Pete Kennaugh on the event’s last visit to Lincoln in 2015.

Reigning champion Alice Barnes will defend her title in the time trial, with sister Hannah also vying to regain the title she won in 2018.

A second-place finish in September’s AJ Bell Tour of Britain saw Ethan Hayter cement his reputation as one of the world’s most exciting talents, and his last HSBC UK | National Road Championships saw him claim victory in the under-23 road race and second place in the time-trial. This year he’ll have his eyes on victory on three fronts, entering the time-trial, road race and circuit race championships.

This year will also see four-time Tour de France champion Chris Froome return to the national championships for the first time since 2011, where he will ride the time-trial. Froome’s only previous national championships time-trial came in 2010 in Wales, where he finished second behind Sir Bradley Wiggins.

This year will be the first time that the time-trial, circuit and road race championships have been brought together into the same event, with the road and circuit races to be centred on the familiar streets of Lincoln city centre, and the time-trials to be hosted in the picturesque village of Tealby in Lincolnshire.

British Cycling CEO, Brian Facer, said:

“With Lincoln’s cycling heritage and the bringing together of the three championship races we always knew that this year’s event would be special, and so it’s only fitting that we now have a phenomenal cast of riders to match.

“I know how thrilled British racing fans will be to see world champions, Olympic gold medallists and Grand Tour winners all going head-to-head for the national champion’s jerseys, and I can’t wait to join them on the roadside as we watch another chapter in the city’s cycling story unfold.”


Reigning champion Alice Barnes will defend her title in the time-trial, with sister Hannah also vying to regain the title she won in 2018. Hayley Simmonds will be looking for her third national time-trial title in Lincoln, while reigning under-23 time-trial champion Anna Henderson will be riding for her first senior title.

Joss Lowden will arrive in Lincoln off the back of an impressive performance in the time trial at last week’s UCI Road World Championships in Flanders, while time trial specialist Emily Meakin will also be keen to make her mark.

Riding alongside Chris Froome in the men’s event will be reigning men’s time-trial champion Alex Dowsett, and he will be joined by his mixed relay team-mates from last week’s world championships, Dan Bigham and John Archibald. Other riders include Scott Davies, Owain Doull, Fred Wright, Connor Swift and reigning under-23 champion Charlie Quarterman.

Circuit races

Incorporated into the championships for the first time, both the men’s and women’s circuit races on Friday evening attract strong fields.

In the women’s race Eluned King, Leah Dixon, Jenny Holl, Abi Smith and Ella Barnwell will all have their sights on the national champion’s jersey, while in the men’s race Joey Walker will look to defend the title he won in Rochester in 2019.

He’ll be joined by the INEOS Grenadiers pair of Hayter and Doull, circuit specialists Matt Bostock, Rob Scott and Alec Briggs, and exciting young prospects Lewis Askey and Joe Pidcock.

Road races

Joining the Barnes sisters in the women’s road race will be Sophie Wright, Abby-Mae Parkinson, Pfeiffer Georgi and Anna Henderson. Alice Barnes will again be defending her title after doing the double in Norfolk in 2019.

Anna Shackley will also be a strong contenders, while a strong Drops Le Col Supported by Tempur team includes Anna Christian, Elizabeth Bennett and the exciting young pair of April Tacey and Alice Powers.

Reigning champion Ben Swift will join Hayter and Doull in the road race, while other contenders include Matt Walls, Jake Stewart, Leo Hayter, Matt Holmes, James Shaw, Matt Gibson, Harry Tanfield and 2018 champion Connor Swift.

You can find out more about the routes for the three races here, and apply for media accreditation here.


Men's Road Race

Men's Time Trial

Men's Circuit Race

Women's Road Race

Women's Time Trial

Women's Circuit Race

U23 Men's Time Trial

U23 Women's Time Trial