Great Britain Cycling Team riders confirmed for UCI Para-Cycling Road World Cup, Ostend

Great Britain Cycling Team riders confirmed for UCI Para-Cycling Road World Cup, Ostend


Fourteen riders from the Great Britain Cycling Team have travelled to Ostend, Belgium, ahead of the first UCI Para-Cycling Road World Cup which takes place from 3rd – 6th May.

Fresh from their UCI Para-cycling Track World Championship victories in March this year, rainbow jersey holders Steve Bate piloted by Adam Duggleby, Lora Fachie piloted by Corinne Hall, Megan Giglia, Crystal Lane-Wright and Louis Rolfe have all turned their focus to the road and will be lining up to represent Great Britain in their respective categories later this week.

Craig Collis-McCann, who won gold at the Ostend round of the 2017 world cup series will be looking to replicate his success at the 2018 season opener while Mel Nicholls, who achieved a personal best time in the wheelchair race in the London Marathon last weekend, will also be taking to the start line.

2017 world time trial silver medallist Ben Watson along with Will Bjergfelt, Simon Price, Liz Saul and David Smith complete the line-up.

Jon Pett, head of para-cycling, said: “The Great Britain Cycling Team para-cyclists have had a very strong start to the 2018 season, as reflected in our podium results at the para-cycling track world championships and Commonwealth Games, which has given us an excellent start to the qualification process for Tokyo 2020.

“Looking ahead to the first round of the world cup this week, there’s a lot of potential across the squad to perform well in Ostend, as we aim to transfer the form from the track to the road.

“In addition to the riders who will represent the Great Britain Cycling Team in Ostend, there will also be a contingent of British riders contesting the event, and we will be watching with interest to see how they get on against some tough international competition.”

The Great Britain Cycling Team for the UCI Para-Cycling Road World Cup, Ostend:

Stephen Bate piloted by Adam Duggleby (MB)

Will Bjergfelt (MC5)

Craig Collis-McCann (MT2)

Lora Fachie piloted by Corrine Hall (WB)

Megan Giglia (WC3)

Crystal Lane-Wright (WC5)

Mel Nicholls (WH4)

Simon Price (MC2)

Louis Rolfe (MC2)

Liz Saul (WC4)

David Smith (MC2)

Ben Watson (MC3)