British Cycling confirms podium programme and senior squad riders for 2017/18

British Cycling confirms podium programme and senior squad riders for 2017/18


British Cycling has today confirmed the 35 podium riders and 12 senior squad riders to complete the roster of Great Britain Cycling Team programme riders for the 2017/18 period.

Annie Last, who won a silver medal at the UCI Mountain Bike World Championships in Cairns, Australia, in September the year, rejoins the mountain bike programme’s senior squad while Manon Lloyd, Mel Lowther, Emily Nelson, Jack Carlin and Joe Truman have graduated onto the podium programme over the course of the past year.

Performance director Stephen Park said: “The announcement of the podium and senior squad riders consolidates our squad for the 2017/18 period and I’m pleased with the depth of talent we have across all the Olympic disciplines.

“It’s been inspiring to see Annie Last independently make history this past year, becoming the first British woman to win a medal at the world championships as well as winning a round of the world cup. I look forward to welcoming Annie back onto the programme and the performance support team are primed to help her build on the excellent progress she’s already made by herself. 

Great Britain Cycling Team's Joe Truman

“I’m also pleased to see the graduation of five senior academy riders onto the podium programme over the year and enjoying success at elite world cup level already, with Manon, Emily, Jack and Joe all being able to list a gold medal in their palmares.

“Mel Lowther is switching from a track to a road focus as she transitions to elite level, and had her first experience of representing Great Britain in the elite women’s road race at the UCI Road World Championships in September this year.

Great Britain Cycling Team's Mel Lowther

“Overall, I think we’re in a good position for this stage of the Olympic cycle – we have some very talented bike riders progressing well on the programme, and indeed significant talent across the country to keep them honest, so I look forward to seeing what this new season brings.”

2017/18 Great Britain Cycling Team Podium Programme and Senior Squad

Great Britain Cycling Team Podium Programme Riders 2017/18

Men’s endurance

Steven Burke
Ed Clancy
Kian Emadi
Chris Latham
Mark Stewart
Andy Tennant
Oliver Wood

Women’s endurance

Katie Archibald
Elinor Barker
Neah Evans
Emily Kay
Laura Kenny
Manon Lloyd
Emily Nelson

Men’s road

Owain Doull
Chris Froome
Dan McLay
Luke Rowe
Ian Stannard
Ben Swift
Geraint Thomas
Scott Thwaites

Women’s road

Alice Barnes
Hannah Barnes
Lizzie Deignan
Mel Lowther
Dani Rowe


Vicky Barnes
Jack Carlin
Philip Hindes
Jason Kenny
Katy Marchant
Ryan Owens
Callum Skinner
Joe Truman

Great Britain Cycling Team Senior Squad Riders 2017/18


Kyle Evans
Quillan Isidore
Paddy Sharrock
Kye Whyte
Tre Whyte


Frazer Clacherty
Annie Last
Cameron Orr
Daniel Tulett
Evie Richards
Emily Wadsworth
Sophie Wright