Phillips fifth in time trial at UCI BMX World Championships

Phillips fifth in time trial at UCI BMX World Championships


Great Britain Cycling Team’s Liam Phillips was fifth in the elite men’s time trial superfinal on Friday at the 2015 UCI BMX World Championships in Zolder, Belgium.

The 26-year-old set a time of 31.496 seconds on his lap of the outdoor circuit having qualified strongly in third earlier in the day.

France’s Joris Daudet won the rainbow jersey with an impeccable lap in 30.953 seconds with Dutch rider Niek Kimmann second and American Connor Fields third.

“It felt great going out for the superfinal but it’s always difficult when you are on the limit because sometimes you make mistakes,” Phillips said.

“I’m really happy where I am at physically, my starts have been really good these last two days in practice and in time trial today so I’m in a good place and ready to race.”

“The time trial shows you indicators of where strong parts of your race are and I think for me in both time trials I was the fastest at the bottom of the ramp and into the first turn so that’s great going into tomorrow’s racing because we all know how important the first straight and the start is."

In the junior men’s time trial, 16-year-old Paddy Sharrock impressed to finish seventh in the superfinal.

Sharrock, in his first world championships at junior level, was sixth in qualifying and looked sharp in his two laps.

Australia’s Shane Rosa won gold with countryman Brandon Te Hiko second and American Collin Hudson third.

Charlotte Green was 19th in the elite women’s time trial which was won by Colombian Olympic champion Mariana Pajon.

2015 UCI BMX World Championships - Time trials

Also in the men’s time trial, Kyle Evans was 33rd, Quillan Isidore 56th and Tre Whyte 72nd.

All six British riders will now focus on Saturday’s racing with Isidore, Whyte, Green and Sharrock starting in the motos heats in their respective competitions.

Due to their UCI rankings, Kyle Evans and Liam Phillips start in the 1/8 finals in the men’s competition.


Elite men's time trial superfinal
Elite men's time trial qualifying
Elite women's time trial qualifying
Junior men's time trial superfinal