Brooks Cycles Track League - 23 August 2012

Brooks Cycles Track League - 23 August 2012


Venue: Lyme Valley Velodrome
Event: 23 August 2012
Report: Chris Pyatt

The latest round of the Brooks Cycles Track League took place on Thursday 23 August 2012 at the Lyme Valley Velodrome in Newcastle. The night saw a great turn out of B Class riders with a large field contesting the four race programme.

The dominant rider of the night was George Edwards ( Lyme RC) who won the 8 lap scratch, along with the final 10 mile scratch. Robert Standring (V Sprint Racing) also had a good night as he won the devil along with two second places in the 8 lap scratch and the 10 mile.

The A Class endurance races saw impressive rides by 2011 Champion Robert Lambton ( Brooks Cycles) who won the 8 lap scratch, the devil and the final 10 mile scratch to score 12 1/2 points on the night.

The sprint events saw Steve Cronshaw ( Brooks Cycles) ride to an impressive win in the two up time trial with teammate Phil Houlton. Phil then went on to win the sprint final ahead of Steve Cronshaw with Sean Mayer ( Swinnerton Cycles)in third. The four up team sprint event saw the win going to Sean Mayer, Louis Preston ( Goldtec) Joel Partington ( Sportcity Velo) and Sassan Emadi ( Tunstall Wheelers).

The Youth field was small this week, however, there was some close racing over the four events with Joe Swinnerton ( Lyme RC) winning the 200m time trial, scratch and the devil.

The Freewheelers League continues to grow each week with six more riders registering, taking the total number to 77. One of the new riders, Ben Meir made an impressive debut in winning two events in Group One to score 7 points on the night. All the three groups of riders performed well, with the top points scorers in each group being as follows;


Group 1

Race 1

1st Ben Meir

2nd Alex Coates Lyme RC

3rd Ewan Giles

Race 2

1st Bradley Heath

2nd James Adamson

3rd Jake Meir

Race 3

1st Ben Meir

2nd Alex Coates

3rd Jake Meir

Race 4

1st James Adamson

2nd Bradley Heath

3rd Adam Barr

Group 2

Race 1

1st Holly Mulroy Congleton CC

2nd Farley Barber

3rd Aaron Mansell Lyme RC

Race 2

1st Seren Redmond

2nd Aaron Mansell

3rd Farley Barber

Race 3

1st Natasha Sandbach

2nd Aaron Mansell

3rd Farley Barber

Race 4

1st Imogen Dimbleby

2nd Natasha Sandbach

3rd Holly Mulroy

Group 3

Race 1

1st Hattie Giles

2nd Ellie Dimbleby

3rd Oliver Peers

Race 2

1st Evie Davis Lyme RC

2nd Alex Leece

3rd Nicholas Sandbach

Race 3

1st Cameron Beckett Lyme RC

2nd Cameron O'Neil Lyme RC

3rd Oliver Peers

Race 4

1st Alex Leece

2nd Oliver Leece

3rd Cameron O'Neil

Race 5

1st Hattie Giles

2nd Oliver Peers

3rd Ellie Dimbleby


Youth 200m TT

1st Joe Swinnerton Lyme RC

2nd Liam Zwetschnikow Lyme RC

3rd Aleshia Mellor Eastlands Velo

Sprinters League 2 - Up TT

1st Steve Cronshaw Brooks Cycles

Phil Houlton Brooks Cycles

2nd Dave Smith Stafford RC

Sean Mayer Swinnerton Cycles

3rd Louis Preston Goldtec

Sassan Emadi Tunstall Wheelers

A Class endurance 8 lap Scratch

1st Robert Lambton Brooks Cycles

2nd Bernard Swinnerton Lyme RC

3rd Alex Simmons Lyme RC

B Class 8 Lap Scratch

1st George Edwards Lyme RC

2nd Robert Standring V Sprint Racing

3rd Ben Goddard Newport CC

Youth Devil

1st Joe Swinnerton

2nd Liam Zwetschnikow

3rd James Duncalf Lyme RC

A Class Endurance Devil

1st Robert Lambton

2nd Will Thomas Velocity RT

3rd Alex Simmons

Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st Sean Mayer

Louis Preston

Joel Partington Sportcity Velo

Sassan Emadi

B Class devil

1st Robert Standring

2nd George Edwards

3rd Paige Millward Lyme RC

Youth Team Sprint

1st Sallie Birchall Lyme RC

Olivia Braybrooke Eastlands Velo

Liam Zwetschnikow

A Class Endurance Course De primes

1st Robert Lambton

2nd Andy Leigh Velocity RT

B Class Win and Out

1st George Edwards

2nd Paige Millward

3rd Ben Goddard

Sprinters League Sprint Final

1st Phil Houlton

2nd Steve Cronshaw

3rd Sean Mayer

Youth Handicap Scratch

1st Joe Swinnerton

2nd Liam Zwetschnikow

3rd James Duncalf

10 Mile Scratch

1st Robert Lambton

2nd Christian Bratbrooke Velocity RT

3rd Alex Simmons

B Class

1st George Edwards

2nd Robert Standring

3rd Alex Webb