Black Friday Promo
Preview: 2023 British National Road Championships

Preview: 2023 British National Road Championships

Home » About us

The British National Road Championships takes to Redcar and Cleveland this week, with the time-trial, circuit, and road race championships all set to be contested by the best riders in the country. Here we’ve pulled together all the key spectator and broadcast information you need, and a few of our ones to watch.

Watching from the roadside

The time-trials are taking place on Croft Motor Circuit in Darlington on Wednesday 21 June, and spectators are invited to park on the circuit (DL2 2PL). If you’d like to watch the race elsewhere on the circuit, please be mindful of road closures and parking suspensions in place. The time-trials start and finish in the pit lane at Croft Circuit, with the route taking in the picturesque roads of Dalton-on-Tees on what is set to be a fast and flat course.

For Friday’s circuit race, spectator parking will be well signposted. You can park at the Civic Centre, Seafield House, or Majuba Road in Redcar, all of which are free after 6pm. These parking locations are just a five to ten minute walk from the start/finish line on the Esplanade. The circuit is a tight and technical 1km circuit around the picturesque seaside town of Redcar, with riders starting on the seafront before heading down the high street.

The road races will conclude this year’s championships on Sunday 25 June, starting and finishing just after Saltburn Bank, which has a maximum gradient of more than 22%. The climb will separate the best from the rest with its tight hairpin bends, following soon after a fast descent. We highly recommend arriving early, taking public transport or utilising the park and ride facility due to full road closures taking place. The park and ride facility is available to book here from Saltburn or here to book your outbound park and ride seat from Kirkleatham Walled Garden.

Route maps can be found here, while information on road closures can be found here. For a more in-depth look at our race routes, head to The British Continental website here.


Broadcast details

For fans not able to watch the races unfold from the roadside in Redcar and Cleveland, the racing can be viewed in the following places:

  • Time-trials (Wednesday 21 June): Live timing here, updates and race clips shared through British Cycling social media channels, and highlights to follow on ITV4 on Wednesday 28 June at 6pm.
  • Circuit races (Friday 23 June): Live coverage through GCN+, discovery+ and the British Cycling YouTube channel, plus a full highlights programme on ITV4 on Wednesday 28 June at 6pm.
  • Road races (Sunday 25 June): Live coverage through GCN+, discovery+ and the British Cycling YouTube channel, plus a full highlights programme on ITV4 on Thursday 29 June at 6pm.

More information can be found here.


Ones to watch

Geraint Thomas leads the favourites for this year’s men’s road race in Saltburn, after a sensational second place at the Giro d’Italia. Thomas will be joined by a full squad of Ineos Grenadiers fighting for the national title, including two-time national champion Ben Swift and 2018 national champion Connor Swift. Thomas faces tough competition from Fred Wright, 2022 under-23 winner Sam Watson, who is backed up by Groupama-FDJ teammates Lewis Askey and Jake Stewart, and the EF Education riders, Simon Carr, Owain Doull and James Shaw.

In the women’s road race, 2022 winner Alice Towers will be hoping to defend her title after her incredible solo victory in Castle Douglas last year. She will be joined on the start line by 2021 national champion Pfeiffer Georgi, and Anna Henderson, with both looking to improve on their 2022 podium placings. Josie Nelson will also look to add another national podium to her palmares, after victory in the circuit race last year.

Crit specialist Matt Bostock will be looking to defend his national title from Kirkcudbright last year, but will be challenged by the full force of Saint Piran, with local favourite Charlie Tanfield, Will Tidball and Rhys Britton all ones to watch. Ineos Grenadiers’ Luke Rowe and Josh Tarling will add further intrigue to the race.

In the women’s race, 2022 silver medallist Emma Jeffers will be looking to go one better this year on the 1km circuit in Redcar, but faces stiff competition from 2021 winner Jo Tindley, Jenny Holl, Sammie Stuart and Josie Knight.

2021 and 2022 silver and bronze time-trial medallists Dan Bigham and James Shaw will do battle once again on Croft Circuit, along with under-23 time-trial winner Leo Hayter as they vie for podium places.

In the women’s event, 2022 bronze medallist Lizzie Holden will have her eyes on the national title, but will face fierce competition from last year’s under-23 winner Georgi, who has since moved up to the elite ranks.

More information on the riders competing, and the full rider lists, can be found here.


Race timings:

Time-trials, Wednesday 21 June:

  • Under-23 men – 09:10
  • Under-23 women – 10:15
  • Elite women – 12:50
  • Elite men – 14:10

Circuit races, Friday 23 June:

  • Women’s race – 18:30
  • Men’s race – 20:00

Road races, Sunday 25 June:

  • Women’s race – 09:00
  • Men’s race – 13:45

Join the conversation!

Whether you’re in Redcar and Cleveland or watching at home, send thoughts and photos to us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram using the hashtag #NatRoadChamps, where we’ll be sharing our exclusive content and behind the scenes footage throughout the event.