ScottishPower MiniDH final at the Fort William World Cup



Full Results

Scotland’s mountain bike starlets took centre stage at the Fort William Mountain Bike World Cup at the weekend as they took part in the final of the ScottishPower Mini Downhill competition.

Riders battled for a place on the same podium which was also occupied by the biggest names in the sport.

The ScottishPower Mini Downhill enables riders aged 8 - 16 years to compete in the fast and exciting sport, pitting rider and machine against the clock.  Each young rider was challenged to ride a set course comprising of jumps, drops, roots, rocks, twists and turns in the fastest time.

Lynne Munro, Head of Development at Scottish Cycling, said: “Thanks to ScottishPower’s sponsorship, we are able to welcome the younger generation to compete in one of the main highlights in the mountain bike racing calendar.  A huge well done to all the young athletes who took part, especially those who grabbed a coveted place on the podium.

"It’s been great watching Scotland’s future stars compete alongside such a world class event. Prestigious events like this will hopefully encourage more riders to get on their bikes and take advantage of the opportunity the ScottishPower Youth Series offers young riders in Scotland.”

Ann Loughrey, Head of CSR at ScottishPower, said: “It’s been a real pleasure and great experience watching the young riders take part in the ScottishPower Youth Series in Fort William. I’d like to offer my congratulations to all the riders involved – it looked like a very tough and challenging course.

“The ScottishPower Youth Series demonstrates ScottishPower’s strong commitment to cycling in Scotland at all levels and across all the cycling disciplines and we look forward to welcoming the next generation of riders to our Youth Series.”

The ScottishPower Mini Downhill final was the culmination of the downhill mountain bike discipline of the ScottishPower Youth Series which was established as a result of the energy company’s partnership with Scottish Cycling, the national governing body for cycling in Scotland.

ScottishPower Youth Series – Mini Downhill Final winners

Under 16 Boys – Jack McCallum (West Highland Wheelers)

Under 16 Girls – Katie Allen (Thomson Cycles)

Under 14 Boys – Myles Reid (Perth City Cycles)

Under 14 Girls – Tea Jensen (Lesley Bike Shop / Bikers Boutique)

Under 12 Boys – Corran Carrick-Anderson (Peebles Cycling Club)

Under 12 Girls – Lucy Edmonson (Wolf Packs Riders)

Under 10 Boys – Zander Millar Todd (Highland Cycles)

Under 10 Girls – Emily Carrick-Anderson (Peebles Cycling Club)